Lemon crinkle cookies

Lemon crinkle cookies

Lemon crinkle cookies

One of my favorite cookies just got better. Chocolate crinkle cookies step aside. It’s time for your lemony counterpart to shine.

Around the holidays, I bust out a rich chocolate cookie recipe passed down from my mother. It has a cake-like consistency, slightly moist in the center and rolled in sweet powdered sugar. All around yummy.

After hearing of my addiction to a certain lemon/powdered sugar cookie sold en mass by armies of little girls in green, my mom shared a  lemon crinkle cookie recipe with me from the depths of the interweb. It’s source is mysterious and unknown (otherwise, I’d share). They’re a perfect blend of the chocolate version I make each winter and the crunchy version purchased from the family’s girl scout representative.

The bonus? They’re low-fat. The double bonus? They’re easy and tasty. With just a subtle taste of lemon and a definite cure to a sweet-tooth craving, these cookies are worth a try. I enjoyed mine with a cup of raspberry tea.

Here’s the recipe:

  • One box lemon cake mix
  • One egg (slightly beaten)
  • Two cups of Cool Whip (an 8 oz. container will do)
  • One cup powered sugar

Mix the cake mix, egg and Cool Whip together. Drop dough into the powdered sugar – be sure to cover the dough well. Shake off any excess sugar, then place dough on a greased cookie sheet. Give the cookies space. The dough will spread a fair amount. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 8 to 10 minutes or until the cookies are golden brown on the edges. The center should be just slightly moist.

