Birthday cake bliss

Blackberry white chocolate cheesecake

Blackberry white chocolate cheesecake

Imagine gooey blackberry sauce baked into a delicious mix of white chocolate and delicate cheesecake, resting on a soft and crispy vanilla-graham cracker crust. Yes, it may have been overly ambitious for my first-ever cheesecake. And yes, the stakes were high. But deterred? I was not.

My baking skills are just a notch above novice. While I like to bake, I mostly fumble through with good humor and occasionally fall upon a recipe my limited skills can master. When I asked my dad what type of cake he wanted for his birthday, I wrongfully assumed he’d suggest something simple. A nice chocolate, maybe with a flair of mint frosting. Not the scary-sounding plea for a berry cheesecake.

Scouring the internet in desperation, I found the holy grail of recipes. A raspberry white chocolate number with a five star rating after more than 1800 reviews. I didn’t know what a springform pan was and that I’d need an item to strain berry sauce that was more than three-inches wide, but I dove in.

After a few hours of plugging away and a simple substitution of blackberries for the called for raspberries, the cake was in the oven. And I was doomed. How jiggly should the center be when it’s finished? I needed to know! The cake’s success rested on correct doneness. I had no clue. Luckily, the internet stepped in with a handy tip. Turn off the oven when you believe the cake is done baking, crack the oven door and leave the cake inside for at least 30 minutes.

Success.

The sweetness of the white chocolate cuts the traditional tartness of a regular cheesecake recipe. Next time, the plan is to try it with strawberries. Or fresh garden raspberries, if my plants survive their recent transplant.